REDwire Setting standards to remove barriers

{{1478201067709| date:'MMM d, yyyy hh:mm a'}}    REDWIRE is news you can use from leading suppliers. Powered by FRASERS.

CSA Group standards for accessibility cover a wide range of areas.

Ontario was the first province to pass legislation that required the removal of barriers that prevent persons with disabilities from participating in normal daily activities. The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA), published in 2005, allowed the province to develop, implement and enforce standards for accessibility, and applies to both private and public spaces. CSA Group played a role in this effort, working with relevant stakeholders to provide standards that support Ontario’s goal of becoming fully accessible by 2025.

The road to accessibility

The first step in ensuring that people with disabilities can enjoy barrier-free access to the places where they work, play and visit is to ensure that accessibility is built into the design of public facilities and spaces. CSA B651, Accessible Design for the Built Environment, contains the technical requirements for making buildings and other facilities accessible to persons with a range of physical, sensory or cognitive disabilities. Available in both official languages, B651 can be referenced in whole or in part by a variety of adopting agencies or jurisdictions.

In addition to B651, CSA Group standards for accessibility cover a wide range of areas, including customer service standards for people with disabilities (developed in partnership with the Government of Ontario), accessible design for automated banking machines, and motor vehicle transportation for persons with physical disabilities. These standards all have a common theme — they provide guidance on how to integrate services for people with disabilities into their intended purpose and routines.

Limited time offer

For a limited time, key standards that help improve accessibility in the community are available at a reduced cost. Use the coupon code ACCESS15 at checkout, and save 15 per cent on key standards that contribute to more inclusive communities, including:

  • D435 - Accessible Transit Buses
  • B651 - Accessible Design for the Built Environment
  • B480 - Customer Service Standard for People with Disabilities
  • D409 - Motor Vehicles for the Transportation of Persons with Physical Disabilities
  • D436 - Accessible Over-the-Road Buses
  • B651.1 - Accessible Design for Automated Banking Machines

To learn more, contact CSA Group.


CSA Group

Posted by   Read more